Nameplate script from pre-WWII Packard automobiles

Classification: 

Hello - can anyone identify the name of the typeface used on the nameplates of certain Packard automobiles made in the very late 1930's and early 1940's? A few samples are attached. Would also appreciate hearing about any similar typefaces. I did search the Typophile forums prior to posting, and hope I didn't miss anything. Much thanks for any guidance. Kevin

Comments

Enchanting, futuristic and stylish Art Deco script lettering that would make a very appealing font. I doubt that it was a font at the time, although someone might have subsequently made a font based on the letters.
I can give you some leads to similar type faces, which I offer in no particular order.
1. Free Fonts
Eduardo Tunni: Warnes http://www.fontspace.com/eduardo-tunni/warnes
Nick Curtis: Uppen Arms NF http://www.fontspace.com/nicks-fonts/uppen-arms-nf, Dymaxian Script http://www.fontspace.com/nicks-fonts/dymaxion-script
Tup Wanders: Remarcle http://www.fontspace.com/tup-wanders/remarcle
Shy Foundry: SF Americana Dreams http://www.fontspace.com/shyfoundry/sf-americana-dreams
Font Mesa: Ferro Rosso http://www.fontspace.com/fontmesa/ferro-rosso
2. Pay fonts:
Magneto http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_bureau/magneto_ot/ot_ps, Streamline http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_bureau/streamline_ot/ot_ps, Neon Stream http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_bureau/neonstream_ot/ot_ps, Rocket http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_bureau/rocket_ot/ot_ps, Raceway http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_bureau/raceway_ot/ot_ps, Cottingley http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/device_fonts/cottingley_ot/ot_ps, Air conditioner http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_diner/air_conditioner_ot/ot_ps, Continental Railway http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_diner/continental_railway_o..., Emblem Chief http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_diner/emblem_chief_ot/ot_ps, Permanent Waves Expanded http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_diner/permanent_waves_expan..., Permanent Waves
http://www.fontshop.com/fonts/downloads/font_diner/permanent_waves_ot/ot_ps
Hooptie Script http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/fdi/hooptie-script/, Cabriolet http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/vargusjohn/cabriolet/, Cabriolet V8 http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/vargusjohn/cabriolet-v8/, Frigidaire http://www.myfonts.com/fonts/urw/frigidaire/, Belair http://www.fontbros.com/families/belair/?code=identifont, Permanent Waves http://www.fontdiner.com/menu_doggie.html Emblem Chief http://www.fontdiner.com/menu_cfp.html
Don

Adding my little contribution to this priceless list of connected script by Don (Thanks!): a list of "[[http://www.fontshop.com/fontlist/genres/connected_chrome/|Connected Chrome Scripts]]" at Fontshop, some tags at MF "[[http://www.myfonts.com/search/chrome/fonts/|here]] and [[http://www.myfonts.com/search/chrome/fonts/|here]]

While I'm still checking with Packard aficionados - with no result just yet - I'd like to thank donshottype and Ryuk for your useful and erudite comments!

Kevin

Thank you Kevin, I'm happy to learn that I'm now erudite. Happy to join that refined group!:)
Don