Welcome to Typophile
Please Sign in.


Indices : Organizations : Society of Typographic Aficionados (SOTA)

The Society of Typographic Aficionados (SOTA) is an international not-for-profit organization dedicated to the promotion, study, and support of type, its history and development, its use in the world of print and digital imagery, its designers, and its admirers.

SOTA exists for the affordable education of its members and participants; to further the development of type, typographical information and typography; and to appreciate on multiple levels the attributes of type, typography, design, the book arts, and calligraphy. Furthermore, SOTA is committed to sponsoring relevant topics in pursuit of these goals. SOTA pursues these goals through an annual conference, TypeCon, held in a different host city each year.

SOTA was formed in 1998 by typophile Bob Colby, with the mission to increase public awareness and appreciation of the art and history of typography and its function in creating beautiful and successful communications. In keeping with these goals, SOTA is defined as a cultural (rather than a business) organization.

Executive Officers (2014)
Christopher Slye, Adobe Systems — Chair
Juliet Shen, Shen Design & School of Visual ConceptsVice Chair & Secretary
Neil Summerour, PositypeTreasurer

Members of the Board (2014)
Corey Holms, Corey Holms Design
Grant Hutchinson, Typostrophe & Butter Label
Frank J. Martinez, Esq., The Martinez Group
Sharon Oiga, UIC School of Design
Mary Catherine Pflug, Rollins College & TypeSisters
Erik Vorhes, Facebook
Delve Withrington, Delvefonts

Ex Officio
Matthew Carter, Carter & Cone
James Grieshaber, Typeco
Allan Haley, Monotype Imaging
Richard Kegler, P22 Type Foundry
David Pankow, Rochester Institute of Technology
Professor Hermann Zapf

Website: http://typesociety.org/
Twitter: @typesociety
Conference site: http://typecon.com/